Who We Are


The Ukrainian Canadian Professional & Business Association of Calgary (UCPBA) is a registered non-profit society in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. Our members are Canadian business people and professionals of Ukrainian descent, who participate in activities that advance our professional growth, promote our Ukrainian heritage and raise an awareness of local, national, and international issues that impact Ukrainian Canadians.

Our activities include a monthly Distinguished Speaker Series, sponsorship of Ukrainian cultural events, as well as financial support to worthy individuals and organizations in the form of scholarships and grants.  Along with other similar associations across Canada, we are a member organization of the Ukrainian Canadian Professional and Business Federation, a coordinating body.

Our monthly dinner meetings are held at the Danish Canadian Club on the last Thursday of every month (except December, July, August).


Our mission is to provide programs for Canadians of Ukrainian descent that reinforce our common heritage and make us valuable contributors within our society. 

  • Help foster growth and development of the Ukrainian Canadian professional and business community.
  • Promote and advance business and professional interests of individuals of Ukrainian heritage in the Calgary area.
  • Recognize the achievements and contributions of individuals of Ukrainian heritage in Canada.
  • Contribute to Canadian society by promoting good corporate citizenship and principles of volunteerism.
  • Uphold and promote Ukrainian and Ukrainian Canadian culture.
  • Facilitate and promote business and professional relationships with Ukraine and Ukrainians around the world.

2017-2018 Executive

President Bohdan Romaniuk
Vice-President Darren Lemke
Treasurer Nicholas Znak
Secretary Olesya Solodkova
Past President Michael Hantzsch
Chair, Audit Committee Andrew Ilnycky
Chair, Donations Committee Arkadij Chumak
Chair, Scholarship Committee Trish Josephs
Student Representative Anton Kornienko
Committee Chair-at-Large Cheryl Olinyk-Semeniuk
Committee Chair-at-Large Daena Diduck
Committee Chair-at-Large Roman Yosyfiv
Committee Chair-at-Large Danylo Moussienko

Board of Directors

James Chypyha
Miron Hlywa
Alex Pochmursky
Vlad Lizunov
Danylo Zalucky

Executive Directors

Halya Lypska Wilson
Lesia Savedchuk